Home | News Releases | Calendar | Getting Publicity | Media Lists | | Contact | Sources Select News RSS Feed |

The Winners - Sources 46


National Newspaper Awards

International Reporting
John Stackhouse, The Globe and Mail

Feature Writing
John Stackhouse, The Globe and Mail

Critical Writing
Doug Saunders, The Globe and Mail

Business Writing
The Globe and Mail

Sports Writing
Jack Todd, The Gazette

Special Project
The Gazette

Enterprise Reporting
William Marsden, The Gazette

Editorial Cartooning
Serge Chapleau, La Presse

Editorial Writing
Alain Dubuc, La Presse

Sports Photography
Fred Chartrand, Canadian Press

Spot News Reporting
CP Montreal Bureau

Christie Blatchford, National Post

Local Reporting
Elaine Smith, Simcoe Reformer

Spot News Photography
Leonard LePage, St. Catharines Standard

Layout and Design
Marc Duplain, Le Soleil

Feature Photography
Chris Schwarz, Edmonton Journal

Spot News - Print
Mia Urquart of Times-Globe, Saint John for "Lost Boy"

Spot News - Radio
Kelly Ryan of CBC Radio Halifax for "The Lobster Wars"

Spot News - Television
Craig Paisley, First Edition, CBC Halifax for "Shelbourne County Forest Fires"

Enterprise - Print
Paul Schneidereit, Steve Maich, Lois Legge, Dale Madill and Steve Proctor, Chronicle-Herald for "Who's Killing Who?"

Enterprise - Radio
Alex Mason, CBC Radio Halifax for "A Warrior's Honour"

Enterprise - Television
Natalie Clancy, CBC Newfoundland for "A Roof Overhead"

Continuing Coverage - Print
Amy Cameron, New Brunswick Telegraph Journal, Moncton for "Waweig Sewage Lagoon"

Continuing Coverage - Radio
Monica Kidd, CBC Radio St. John's for "Gold THMs in the Drinking Water"

Continuing Coverage - Television
Peter Walsh, CBC Newfoundland and Labrador for "Ponzi Scheme Busted"

Feature - Print
James Foster, Times & Transcript, Moncton for "Love of the Hunt"

Feature - Radio
CBC Radio, Fredricton for "2010: The Maritimes in the Millennium"

Feature - Television
Natalie Clancy, CBC Newfoundland for "Lakeshore Hotel"

Peter Penashue, CBC Radio, St. John's for "Innu Suicide"

Photojournalism - Spot News - Print
Cindy Wilson, Saint John Times Globe for "Hostage"

Photojournalism - Spot News - Television
Bart Fraize, NTV St. John's for "Cookstown Road Fire"

Photojournalism - Feature - Print
Tim Krochak, The Chronicle-Herald, Halifax for "Preacher's Funeral"

Photojournalism - Feature - Television
Mark Thompson, CBC Newfoundland for "Lakeshore Hotel"

Editorial Cartooning
Greg Perry, "Water Woes"

Jim MacNeill New Journalist Award
Catherine Vardy, "Times & Transcript", Moncton

Journalistic Achievement Award
Fred Hatfield, The Vanguard, Yarmouth

Connaught Medal for Excellence in Health Research Journalism
(now Aventis Pasteur Medal of Excellence in Health Research Journalism)

This year's award went to Ann Rees, a reporter at The Province for her series of articles on attention deficit disorder, "Boys will be boys - that's why we've got them popping pills". The article featured detailed statistics on the number of students that were being medicated with the drug in cities and towns throughout the province, suggesting that the level of Riatlin use in some centres far exceeds the actual occurrence of ADD within the local population. Ms. Reeves received a commemorative medal and a $1,500 bursary, as well as having her name inscribed on a permanent plaque at The Canadian Medical Hall of Fame in London, Ontario.

BC Book Prize Winners 2000

Ethel Wilson Fiction Prize
Michael Turner, "The Pornographer's Poem" (Doubleday)

Haig-Brown Regional Prize
Margaret Horsfield, "Cougar Annie's Garden" (Salal Books)

Hubert Evans Non-Fiction Prize
Rita Moir, "Buffalo Jump: A Woman's Travels" (Coteau)

Bill Duthie Booksellers' Choice
Derek Hayes, "Historical Atlas of British Columbia and the Pacific Northwest" (Cavendish Books)

Dorothy Livesay Poetry Prize
Lorna Crozier, "What the Living Won't Let Go" (McLelland & Stewart)

Sheila Egoff Children's Prize
Vivien Bowers, "WOW Canada! Exploring the Land from Coast to Coast to Coast" (Owl Books)

Registered Nurses Association of Ontario Nursing in the Media Award Competition

Award of Excellence Winners

Jimmy Leung, Fairchild TV
Ann Lukits, Kingston Whig-Standard
Michele Landsberg, Toronto Star
Prithi Yelaja, Kitchener-Waterloo Record
Julie Ireton, CBC Radio

Certificate of Merit Winners

Linda Boyle, Global TV
Robin Harvey, Toronto Star
Andrew Philips, Brockville Recorder and Times
Rae Joseph, Alliston Herald
Janice Turner, Toronto Star

Canadian Nurses Association Media Awards 2000


Bobbi-Jean MacKinnon, Saint John Times Globe, "Emergency Room"

André Picard, The Globe and Mail, "Behind Closed Doors: The Struggle Over Homecare"

Alicia Priest, The Georgia Straight Newspaper, First Call

David Gutnick, CBC Radio Montreal, "Brand New Eyes: Laser Eye Surgery"

Monica Kidd, CBC Radio, "Water Chlorination"

Normand Grondin, Pascal Gélinas, Société Radio-Canada, "La régénération de la moelle épinière" (pour Découverte)

Emma Saganash, Jeff Dorn, CBC North Quebec, "The Journey: Part One"

sponsored by International Data Group

Carol Moore-Ede, CBC, The Nature of Things, "Designing for Dignity: Engineering Body Parts"

Jack McGraw, Dr. Art Hister, Melanie Wood, Documentary Productions Ltd., "The Sweet Assassin"

co-sponsored by the Canadian Society for International Health/PAHO

Bob McDonald, Jim Handman, CBC Radio, "Malaria and DDT"

Fred Lum, Tibor Kolley, The Globe and Mail, "Behind Closed Doors: The Struggle Over Homecare"

Trillium Book Award

English Language Award

Alistair MacLeod has won the $12,000 prize for his work, "No Great Michief", which captures the lilting music of Cape Breton in its hypnotic narrative of the political and personal struggles of the fictitious MacDonald Clan. (McClelland & Stewart)

French Language Award

Andrée Christensen and Jacques Flamand have won the $12,000 prize for, "Lithochronos", a collaborative book of spare yet engaging poetry inspired by the metamorphosis of a small bird's remians. (Editions de Vermillon)

Japan Assignment 2000

The Asia Pacific Foundation of Canada (APFC) and the Foreign Press Centre/Japan, co-sponsors of the program, named Joe Chidley, senior writer with Canadian Business, Brenda Bouw, a business reporter with The National Post, and Susan Lazaruk, consumer affairs reporter with The Province, Vancouver to undertake the two-week reporting program in Japan. They will pursue individual programs, developing story ideas of their own choice, during the year beginning April 1.

Toronto Arts Awards 1999

Architecture & Design
Bruce Mau

Media Arts
Mike Hoolboom

Colin Linden

Performing Arts
Urjo Kareda

Visual Arts
Robert Fones

Writing & Publishing
Josef Skvorecky

William Kilbourn Award
Stan Bevington

Lifetime Achievement Award
Burton Kramer

Amnesty International Canada - Media Awards 1999

National Print
Dan Gardner, The Ottawa Citzien, "The Trials of Alexsandr Nikitin"

Local/Alternative Print
Jacques Poitras, New Brunswick Telegraph Journal

Rick MacInnes-Rae, CBC National Radio News

Tom Fairley Award for Editorial Excellence 1999

Elizabeth McLean of Shawnigan Lake, BC has won for her work "Finding the Right Treatment: Modern and Alternative Medicine: A Comprehensive Guide to Getting the Best of Both Worlds". (Hartley & Marks Publishing Inc.)

Dateline Hong Kong Fellowship

Catherine Pope, BCTV
Janice Cleugh, Tri-City News, Port Coquitlam, BC

John Drainie Award for Distinguished Contribution to Broadcasting

Pierre Berton


For information about awards see:

Fame & Fortune: Comprehensive Listing of Awards and Prizes available to Canadian journalists

Sources Calendar: Current Award Application Deadlines


Copyright © Sources, All rights reserved.